FAQ FAQ   Search Search   Memberlist Memberlist   Usergroups Usergroups   Register Register 
The Honourable Souls
A Social Linkshell on FairySylph (FFXI) & Mysidia Ragnarok (FFXIV) 
  Profile Profile   Log in to check your private messages Log in to check your private messages  Log inLog in 

The Honourable Souls Forum Index » Rants » Being Told "How To Do Your Job!"
  The time now is Wed Jun 20, 2018 6:01 pm 

PostPosted: Mon May 11, 2009 8:33 pm    Post subject: Being Told "How To Do Your Job!"  Reply with quote  

Budoukiba
The Poor Neenja

Okay, this is the ONE worst thing you can ever say to me -- How to play my job!

Seriously, to me, this has got to be one of the biggest insults you could possibly infer to me on FFXI. I know how to play my WHM, I've been playing it for four years. I understand at times you'll see me mess up, but that's only because of a malfunction of the mind, as I like to call it, or lag. I've always been told that it's much more "normal" and "less hectic" to macro every single spell in your spellbook. Well let me tell you, after playing my WHM for four years, I've memorized my spellbook. (<-- Very helpful tactic at times). And yes, I have a few spells macro'd here and there such as buffs (Tect/Shell), and SS/Haste/Aquaveil/Regen/Flash on my /NIN macro set. The fact of the matter is, to me it's easier to whip through my spellbook and just hit a spell, make it happen. Besides, it causes me to become more alert and productive than to just chill and hit 'Ctrl+3' to cast 'Cure IV'. For a White Mage, it is almost imperative to stay alert if you want to look good, I've had many outstanding comments on my performance in EXP/merit parties in both activeness and MP conservation.