FAQ FAQ   Search Search   Memberlist Memberlist   Usergroups Usergroups   Register Register 
The Honourable Souls
A Social Linkshell on FairySylph (FFXI) & Mysidia Ragnarok (FFXIV) 
  Profile Profile   Log in to check your private messages Log in to check your private messages  Log inLog in 

 The Honourable Souls Forum Index » Rants » maaaaaaac >.>
  The time now is Tue Dec 12, 2017 9:13 am 

 Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 4:05 pm    Post subject: maaaaaaac >.>  Reply with quote  

Saryan
Beetle Basher


Joined: 26 Jun 2009
Posts: 133
Location: Maine.

XI doesn't run on Macs. ;_;



also: I hate the OS >.>
_________________

~*~*~*~*Paladin 67, Warrior 43, Dancer 38*~*~*~*~
{San d'Oria Mission: 6-1} {RoZ: ZM4} {CoP: 4-1} {ToAUG: 12} {WoG: 2} {ACP: 9} {MKdE: 1} {ASA: 3}

TOP View user's profileSend private messageAIM AddressMSN Messenger  BOTTOM
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 6:05 pm    Post subject:  Reply with quote  

Budoukiba
The Poor Neenja


Joined: 21 Jan 2009
Posts: 345
Location: Bettendorf, IA

Why u get mac? D:
_________________

TOP View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's websiteMSN Messenger  BOTTOM
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 6:10 pm    Post subject:  Reply with quote  

Wumyamya
Ulmia's Soulmate


Joined: 13 Feb 2006
Posts: 2329

There is no MacOSX FFXI client, but you can run it. You'll need to run Windows on the Mac, which is very doable with BootCamp, or other programs, such as VirtualPC (which is free) or Parallel Desktops. It runs fine then.

Wumy
_________________


TOP View user's profileSend private message  BOTTOM
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 7:44 pm    Post subject:  Reply with quote  

Nimdae
Dog Food


Joined: 13 Feb 2006
Posts: 2238
Location: Texas

VirtualBox is another option. Runs tons better than VirtualPC because it's actually in active development.
_________________

They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety.
`·.,¸,.·*¯`·.,¸,.·*¯[;::;‹]ᵒᴥᵒ­­­­­­­­­­­­)›

TOP View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's websiteAIM AddressMSN Messenger  BOTTOM
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 8:49 pm    Post subject:  Reply with quote  

Wumyamya
Ulmia's Soulmate


Joined: 13 Feb 2006
Posts: 2329

Sorry, I meant VirtualBox. VirtualPC no longer works, actually.

Wumy
_________________


TOP View user's profileSend private message  BOTTOM
PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 1:23 pm    Post subject:  Reply with quote  

Ninelives
Le Fantôme de l’Forums


Joined: 14 Feb 2006
Posts: 2110
Location: Kansas City, MO

and cheeeeeeeeeese~

TOP View user's profileSend private message  BOTTOM
PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 5:11 pm    Post subject:  Reply with quote  

Pyrobug
Why haven't you asked for a title yet?


Joined: 15 Jun 2009
Posts: 276
Location: The West Side...of the country

I miss Virtual Game Station.
_________________
Solve a problem: (v.) To reconfigure an undesirable situation such that duct tape can be applied, and then applying duct tape.

TOP View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailAIM Address  BOTTOM
PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2010 1:57 pm    Post subject:  Reply with quote  

Saryan
Beetle Basher


Joined: 26 Jun 2009
Posts: 133
Location: Maine.

Alrighty, so after several attempts at installing some some of the previously mentioned programs on my mac-- no luck with XI. It should also be noted that I no longer have any of the disks for XP and have yet to even grab 7.

Anyone have any ideas of what I'm doing wrong/should be doing?
_________________

~*~*~*~*Paladin 67, Warrior 43, Dancer 38*~*~*~*~
{San d'Oria Mission: 6-1} {RoZ: ZM4} {CoP: 4-1} {ToAUG: 12} {WoG: 2} {ACP: 9} {MKdE: 1} {ASA: 3}

TOP View user's profileSend private messageAIM AddressMSN Messenger  BOTTOM
PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 9:34 pm    Post subject:  Reply with quote  

Nimdae
Dog Food


Joined: 13 Feb 2006
Posts: 2238
Location: Texas

To use a VM system (like virtualbox), you need a Windows install disk. You install Windows inside of the virtual environment, then install ffxi inside of that Windows install. What you end up with is ffxi running inside of Windows, which is running inside of OSX.

If you are missing your Windows install disks, you need to replace them Wink

TOP View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's websiteAIM AddressMSN Messenger  BOTTOM
 Post new topic   Reply to topic All times are GMT

Display posts from previous:   
 The Honourable Souls Forum Index » Rants » maaaaaaac >.>
 Page 1 of 1
 
 
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Jump to:  


     Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group | Template Neon v1.3 | Crystal